Women’s hand to be cut off for……

Deut. 5:11-12 If two men fight together, and the wife of one draws near to rescue her husband from the hand of the one attacking him, and puts out her hand and seizes him by the genitals, then you shall cut off her hand; your eye shall not pity her.

PERSONAL COMMENTARY

I must admit I do not get this one. However, I’m just a finite being. God is infinite.


4 responses to “Women’s hand to be cut off for……

  • Jose Torres

    I think, should I give the hand to the other man, as a gift? May be he will found a use to it.

  • heardofgod

    Wow! Gotta agree with this one and with you. Usually when someone makes a rule it’s because it has become a problem.

    However, the Law was focused on works and was outward. So this could represent uncleanliness and would call for them to purge the evil from among them. God is a little more consistent than we are. But he sets the standard and grading on a curve, we fail.

    I don’t see anything that is that contrary to my understanding of God’s character.

    Peace,

    Sam

  • lenny

    Sam,

    I’ve enjoyed your commentary on this blog. I’ve been following you around reading your input. I believe that’s the purpose of the blog. To list difficult verses and then allow for explanations. I believe the blogger is a Christian. Keep up the good work. I have lots of questions on these types of verses also so I’ve been keeping up w/this blog.

    lenny

  • heardofgod

    Oh! Hey lenny. I hadn’t noticed this comment yet. It is kinda weird to think that these passages are not that acceptable to some people. Maybe I can help without offending. I think I get it but only time will tell. I was unsure if Roopster was a Christian or not so I was only responding to what I saw. I’ll keep that in mind and hopefully I haven’t offended already. Thanks for your exhortation and hopefully my huge vacation between my first wave of posts and the rest of the posts didn’t see you miss out. Not that I think too highly of what I have to say but if it seemed to comfortably answer your questions then maybe I wasn’t wrong after all about posting on these quotes.

    Peace to you and Roops,

    Sam

Leave a comment